The Shrine is what some may consider the public view of Freemasonry. It is founded on the principles of the Craft but without the solemnity of the Blue Lodge. Among its many public and charitable functions, the Shrine is especially noted for its operation of the many Childrens’ Hospitals and Burn Institutes, as previously mentioned.

Learn more:

Scottish Rite

The Scottish Rite is a more recent evolution, and developed as additional lessons to those taught in the York Rite. Unlike the York Rite, Scottish Rite degrees are simply numbered 4-33 with the 33rd Degree being honorary. Moreover, as in the York Rite and as all Masons understand, a 32nd or 33rd Degree Mason is again no “more a Mason” than any other Master Mason.

Learn more:

York Rite

The York Rite is an extension of the Blue Lodge through which you initially joined Freemasonry. There are fewer degrees in the York Rite than in the Scottish Rite, and are characterized as the Royal Arch, Cryptic Council and Knights Templar. These bodies provide opportunities for additional contemplation of the lessons taught in Craft Masonry, but a brother who progresses through all the bodies in Freemasonry is no “more a Mason” than one who is only a Master Mason. 

Learn more:

Appendant Bodies

There are several bodies of Freemasonry of which a Master Mason may become a member after he has been raised a Master Mason. Some of these bodies you may have already heard of, but didn’t know they were comprised entirely of Masons such as the Shrine or Knights Templar. Essentially Freemasonry is divided into two primary bodies – the York Rite and the Scottish Rite, along with the Shrine and several appendant bodies.